Saturday, October 30, 2010

ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2010

Title: ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2010 (ID: ERS1006)

Author(s): Shannon D. Smith (EDUCAUSE) and Judith B. Caruso (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Introduction by: Joshua Kim (Dartmouth College)

Topics: Cloud-based tools, CMS and LMS, Communication, Course Management Systems, Handheld and Mobile Computing, Social Networking, Student Engagement and Interaction, Student IT Competencies, Students

Origin: Research Studies, ECAR (10/22/2010)

Type: Articles, Papers, and Reports

Abstract: Since 2004, the annual ECAR study of undergraduate students and information technology has sought to shed light on how information technology affects the college experience. We ask students about the technology they own and how they use it in and out of their academic world. We gather information about how skilled students believe they are with technologies; how they perceive technology is affecting their learning experience; and their preferences for IT in courses.

The ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2010 is a longitudinal extension of the annual 2004 through 2009 studies. It is based on quantitative data from a spring 2010 survey of 36,950 freshmen and seniors at 100 four-year institutions and students at 27 two-year institutions; student focus groups that included input from 84 students at 4 institutions; and review of qualitative data from written responses to open-ended questions. In addition to exploring student ownership, experience, behaviors, preferences, and skills with respect to information technologies, including ownership and use of Internet-capable handheld devices, the 2010 study also includes a special focus on student use of social networking websites and web-based applications.

Citation for this work: Shannon D. Smith and Judith Borreson Caruso, with an introduction by Joshua Kim. The ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2010 (Research Study, Vol. 6). Boulder, CO: EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research, 2010.

Source And Links To  Full Study  / Key Findings  / Roadmap  / Survey Instrument  / Table of Contents Available At

[http://www.educause.edu/Resources/ECARStudyofUndergraduateStuden/217333]

Related

Who Are Today’s Students? A Closer Look at The ECAR Study of Undergraduate Students and Information Technology, 2010

ELI Web Seminar, November 1, 2010 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT); runs one-and-a-half hours

[http://net.educause.edu/eliweb1011]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.